Bon Iver

This is a follow-up post about the lovely, plaintive Bon Iver and the album For Emma, For Ever Ago.

Buy Justin Vernon’s break-up (and mono) inspired album, download some tracks, watch his videos, or just listen while you read your favorite blogs.

The new news is threefold.

There’s a new review by the ever-effusive Daytrotter.

There’s this interview on AV Club, in which dude addresses why there’s so much (surprisingly awesome) falsetto: “For the most part, I’ve been influenced by black singers and singers I couldn’t sound like. Whenever I tried to do a dark note or a bent note, I would just sound like Hootie And The Blowfish. [Laughs.] I was really insecure about it, so I just ended up writing rock ‘n’ roll songs where I didn’t have to do that. But I feel so much more comfortable being able to access painful melodies. I feel freer singing the high stuff.”

Also, you can stream or download all of Bon Iver’s D.C. concert at the Rock and Roll Hotel (which is a pain in the arse to get to without a car…) courtesy of NPR. You can grab tourmates Black Mountain‘s set there, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Music Videos, Shows

One response to “Bon Iver

  1. Pingback: Favorite Albums of 2008 «

Leave a Reply

