Nerf Herder

Nerf Herder IV, the newest release from the fun nerd-rock band, has been delayed until April 29, but I couldn’t wait to love on ’em a little bit because I heard the song Jenna Bush Army on college radio recently.

Nerf Herder is named for a Star Wars throw-away line Princess Leia jabs Han Solo with when they’re stuck in the trash compactor: “Why you stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder!” Listen closer next time. Oh, and Mark Hamill cameos in the video for Sorry.

Please buy their albums … if for no other reason than to keep them in embroidered golf shirts. They’re like Weezer-light with the garage door open on a sunny day; they’re like Bloodhound Gang on suburbanized helium; they’re like what you wanted to listen to when you were 16 and forgot to be angsty. Choice lyrics:

“She’s got lips… lips just like Cherry Coke” (Annalee)

“You bared your soul / You showed us your hole / Courtney Love don’t throw it all away / Courtney Love don’t you go changin'” (Courtney Love)

“I was listening to Rush and trying to feather my hair back / When all that stuff went down / I’m not the one who was in a high school hardcore band / I sat in my room scoring with Ms. Pac-Man” (Golfshirt)

“And she was the kind of girl who you would give up eating meat for / No more salami / No more steak or potatoes / Yeah you would walk on down to the health food store / And buy hummus and tabouli and babaganoush and ricecakes ricecakes ricecakes / Nosering girl I love you” (Nosering Girl (video))

“I bleached my hair just like Vince Neil / Then you made me cut it like James Hetfield / We’re gonna put an end to alternative rock / We’ll find a way to make the Cranberries stop / We went to Sears for pictures at Christmastime / But they wouldn’t let us make the metal sign” (Pantera Fans In Love)

And perhaps the best, the very personal song Van Halen (video here):

“I bought Van Halen I / It was the best damn record I ever owned / TG&Y 1978 / Two hand tapping guitar technique really got me off / Eruption yeah, ain’t talkin’ ’bout love, I’m on fire

Tomorrow may come / Tomorrow may never come again / Can’t you hear Jamie cryin? / She’s runnin’ with the devil

I bought Women and Children First / Fair Warning and Van Halen II / Dance the night away / 1984 my favorite record yeah I wore it down / Might as well jump …

Is this what you wanted, Sammy Hagar? / Sammy Hagar, is this what you wanted, man? / Dave lost his hairline but you lost your cool buddy / Can’t drive 55 / I’ll never buy your lousy records again / Again, again, again, never again…”

And if you’re already this deep in the post (bless you), the lead man for NH wrote some Weird Al-ish jingles while the band was broken up for a while. Look inside Parry Grip’s head by checking his solo album For Those About to Shop, We Salute You here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Videos, New

Leave a Reply

