Franz Ferdinand and The Bees/A Band of Bees

Stella Splice is back, starting today. I have a ton of album reviews for you, scribbled on sticky notes and stowed in my glove box. I’ll be writing those out as well as reviews of acts at Bonnaroo. I have a lot of catching up to do, so I’m not going to worry about breaking indie rock news the split second a mp3 is released/leaked (if you care that much you can follow along at home). Regardless, I’m pretty sure if you’re reading this, you care more about quality than timeliness.

Franz Ferdinand will release a new album next year, and it looks like it ain’t no Take Me Out [buy their stuff]. Their website features a tantalizing afrobeat loop. Hydra-like Wikipedia, in fine speculative form, discusses the funkiness here and proposes possible tracks for the band’s third disc here.

Gorilla vs Bear’s post led me to the clip in the first place, and I agree with the commenter who points out that the new FF sounds like The Bees (a.k.a. A Band of Bees). Very exciting.

No U.S. tour dates this year, but we can cross our fingers for next.

Leave a comment

Filed under New

Leave a Reply

